Random Thoughts

August 31, 2007

Screw NBC – $5 per show?

Filed under: Cool Stuff, Funny, Life in general — doctorfeelgood @ 2:25 pm

The move follows NBC’s decision to not renew its agreement with iTunes after Apple declined to pay more than double the wholesale price for each NBC TV episode, which would have resulted in the retail price to consumers increasing to $4.99 per episode from the current $1.99. ABC, CBS, FOX and The CW, along with more than 50 cable networks, are signed up to sell TV shows from their upcoming season on iTunes at $1.99 per episode.

I had to post some text about this link from the story below – $5 per show? $40 for a DVD set of 22? What the F&*K? I hesitated at $2. Now they want $5 for each Battlestar – screw that.

Even worse, Comcast is watching what people are BitTorrenting (verb now) so people have no choice but to hope their TiVo isn’t crashing like mine is after the summer’s update. Now I can’t transfer files to my PC unless I use their $75 adapter – my $10 adapter (as in Wireless, B/G) from D-Link no longer works. So I can’t record them securely, I can’t download them for less than $5 per show, so I have to be home on Saturday to watch. Yikes!! What about Heroes – now I have to be around Monday night at 9pm too. This leaves little time to finish Bioshock – if I buy it on Steam this weekend. I haven’t installed Steam since Half-Life 2 Episode 1 was finished – what a great game that was. Then I played Dungeon Siege 2 then NeverWinter Nights 2 with a friend co-op, and we took the summer off. Does BioShock do co-op?

Of course, maybe Heroes will be online with ads on NBC.com – I can handle that.  After all, I watched Kidnapped and Drive online to finish Fox’s awesome-and-canceled-TV-shows.

Link (again from below)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

