Random Thoughts

October 21, 2007

Gone Baby Gone Review

Filed under: Cool Stuff — doctorfeelgood @ 5:20 pm

gonebabygone-review-01.jpgOk. Maybe I haven’t seen enough movies, maybe I have a soft spot for Ben Affleck due to Armageddon and I didn’t see Pearl Harbor, maybe I am old and soft, but this movie rocks.

Trailer Rotten Tomatoes

Kevin Smith says go see it – he has three times. I like Mr. Smith. I also watched Fantastic 4 – Silver Surfer and realized maybe I have finally grown up a little. It sucked compared to GBG.

The wife and I went to a matinee yesterday afternoon and joined several 50-year old couples (no one we knew, and we are late 30s, just saying the crowd Saturday afternoon is not young) for a viewing. Just like the reviews say, at the half-way point, it seems over. Almost. Then the story continues and culminates in events that my wife and I are still discussing. We disagree on the ending and neither of us is wrong. Pretty cool that a movie can do this and not preach for one second.

The acting was awesome by all. I have to confess I like Mr. Freeman no matter what he does, but I don’t remember Mr. Affleck in anything else. I will search IMDB later. Also, his girlfriend/partner/whatever does a great job. For people who want an action movie, there is lots to like. And the story is awesome even when it is 100% drama. For me anyway.

Kudoes to Ben for doing a great job directing even though I don’t know what that means. I watch a movie and like it or not. I don’t know what a well-directed movie looks like, although I know that blurry action-fests like Transformers piss me off because I can’t enjoy the special effects when they wiz by too fast. Like most music videos. I am old…

Great flick, I hope somebody wins an Oscar for something. It is that good.

FirstShowing.net has been rallying for this movie for a long time – I now respect them and will pay attention more!!!

Second Review – 9.5/10

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.